Home   News
Angus Foundation Scholarships Invest in Industry’s Future
Supporting the educational pursuits of young people in the Angus industry is one of the key endeavors of the Angus Foundation. At the National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Des Moines, Iowa, 116 scholarships were given to undergraduate and graduate students totaling more than $213,000 invested in future agriculture industry leaders.
“The Angus Foundation prides itself on making an incredible investment in the future of our industry — our youth — through education,” says Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president. “Of course, very generous donors from across the Angus industry are really what makes this investment possible.”
A five-member committee evaluates the scholarship applications and considers National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) involvement, state association participation, leadership and other criteria. Since 1998, the Angus Foundation has awarded more than $2.7 million in undergraduate and graduate scholarships.
The 2017 scholarships recipients were recognized on July 13 and 14 during the NJAS. A complete list of scholarship winners follows.
Undergraduate Angus Foundation General Scholarship - $3,000
Reba Colin, Butler, Mo.; Caroline Cowles, Rockfield, Ky.; Ashley Cox, Eagle Point, Ore.; Lydia Dance, Hillsboro, Ohio; Grady Dickerson, Paradise, Kan.; Taylor Duckett, New Liberty, Iowa; Morgan Fruge, Jennings, La.; Paige Gaffney, Barneveld, Wis.; LeAnn Harward, Richfield, N.C.; Allison Hawthorne, Westby, Wis.; John Henderson, East Troy, Wis.; Cale Hinrichsen, Westmoreland, Kan.; Catie Hope, Berryville, Va.; Kallie Knott, Laotto, Ind.; Dalton Lemenager, Clifton, Ill.; Jacob McCall, Greenville, Va.; Cooper Sadowsky, Eagleville, Mo.; Gabrielle Simpson, Tupelo, Miss.; C.J. Stevenson, Hobson, Mont.; and Carter Ward, Plattsburg, Mo.
Undergraduate Angus Foundation General Scholarship - $1,000
Kylea Arnold, Weston, W.Va.; Cassidy Becker, Diagonal, Iowa; Paige Birk, Gordonville, Mo.; Kelby Burks, Park City, Ky.; Grant Cash, York, Pa.; Molly Cooksey, Roggen, Colo.; Brianna Erdmann, Leola, S.D.; Kaydee Free, Salado, Texas; Kyle Frye, Three Forks, Mont.; Sarah Harris, Buchanan, Va.; Claire Hawthorne, Westby, Wis.; Victoria Hernandez, Wellington, Fla.; Sarah Innis, Milroy, Ind.; Baxter Knapp, Bloomfield, Iowa; Sara Lechlider, Gaithersburg, Md.; Benjamin Marsh, Union, Ill.; Faith Massingill, Hamilton, Texas; Sarah Pelton, Paradise, Kan.; Linsey Rogers, Conway, Mo.; Morgan Scilacci, Baker City, Ore.; Cara Smith, Pleasant Garden, N.C.; Tyler Steele, Anita, Iowa; Hannah Steph, Tatum, Texas; Leisa Stevenson, Joliet, Mont.; Drew Williams, Milan, Ga.; Daniel Williams, Milan, Ga.; Claire Wingert, Ottawa, Kan.; Derek Wolf, Windthorst, Texas; Morgan Woodbury, Quenemo, Kan.; and Karsyn Zenor, Attica, Ind.
Click here to see more...