Home   News

Agribition records a profit for the second year in a row

A popular cattle show in Saskatchewan has reported a successful 2023.

At the annual general meeting of Canadian Western Agribition (CWA) Chief Executive Officer Shaun Kindopp reported a net profit of $75,000 last year which is slightly lower than the $83,450 in 2022.

“For a second consecutive we’ve got record revenues at $4.6 million, a second consecutive year of record sponsorship at $1.3 million and a second consecutive year of record rodeo attendance,” Kindopp said. “That’s coming out of a pandemic and looking at the state Canadian Western Agribition is in.”

Total attendance was 142,807 for the six days, the most since 2005.

Kindopp said that even though there is a lot of competition for sponsorship dollars, CWA remains an important brand.

“We want to be the organization that is left in those budgets as you move forward,” he said. “So that’s something we’re quite excited about. The new team we have, all the emphasis is still looking around making sure we have processes in place to ensure we are fiscally responsible but also looking to our processes and our efficiencies.”

Kindopp notes there were several new initiatives last year, such as a golf tournament and the Canadian Animal Agtech Awards.

CWA elected its 2024-25 leadership team which includes new president Michael Latimer from Olds, Alta. Latimer has been involved in the beef cattle industry in various capacities over the past 30 years. He joined the Agribition Board of Directors in 2015 and has served on multiple committees, including International, Beef Supreme, Stock Exchange, and the Agribition Community Foundation. He is also the Executive Director for the Canadian Hereford Association, which is based in Calgary.

Levi Jackson of Sedley, Sask. was elected vice president. Executive Members at Large are Kelsey Ashworth of Oungre, Sask., Courtney MacDougall of Regina, Sask., and Garth Newell of Carlyle, Sask. The Executive Committee also includes Past President Kim Hextall of Grenfell, Sask.

Members of CWA that were elected to the board of directors to serve a two-year term include Cynthia Beck of Lumsden, Sask., Dr. Christine Ewert Hill of Redvers, Sask., Glenn Lipsett of Pilot Butte, Sask., and Mona Taylor from Regina.

Kelly Howe of Moose Jaw, Sask., Blake MacMillan of Nokomis, Sask., Grant McLellan of Regina, and Karl Sauter of Wawota, Sask. are serving the second year of their two-year term on the board.

Angela Hall with the Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture, Dana Hicks with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and Chad Jedlic with the City of Regina are appointed directors.

Click here to see more...

Trending Video

Ag Secretary Visits MI, Discusses Vaccines, Milk: ‘Pasteurization Works’

Video: Ag Secretary Visits MI, Discusses Vaccines, Milk: ‘Pasteurization Works’

Before speaking to farmers in Michigan, Ag Secretary Tom Vilsack had a meal: macaroni and cheese.