Farms.com Home   Ag Industry News

Answers to the farm equipment rule quiz

Answers to the farm equipment rule quiz

How many did you get right?

By Diego Flammini
Staff Writer
Farms.com

Earlier this week, and with producers preparing for the 2024 planting season and the equipment movement associated with it, Farms.com created a quiz.

The 10-question quiz tests farmers’ knowledge about moving farm equipment in different jurisdictions.

Here are the answers and appropriate explanations.

1) In Pennsylvania, a slow-moving vehicle (SMV) emblem is required for equipment traveling slower than 25 mph.

That is true.

But the speed requirement for an SMV varies by state.

In New York, for example, any vehicles traveling slower than 40 mph requires the SMV.

2) In Illinois, you can drive without a valid driver’s license if you’re moving a tractor between farm buildings and nearby farmland.

That is true.

State law lists multiple instances where a driver doesn’t need a valid license.

Another example is “a nonresident and his spouse and children living with him who is a student at a college or university in Illinois who have a valid license issued by their home State,” the law says.

3) In Ohio, farm equipment capable of running at speeds higher than 25 mph must have a speed identification symbol in addition to the slow-moving vehicle emblem.

This is true.

The speed identification symbol (SIS) must signify the maximum speed the machinery is designed to operate. The operator must also have manufacturer documents to support the machinery’s maximum speed.

4) In Kansas, a tractor must be equipped with hazard warning lights, at least two head lamps, one red lamp and two reflectors.

This is true.

These lighting requirements apply to any tractor manufactured after Jan. 1, 1975.

5) In Wyoming, farmers need a permit to move farm equipment that exceeds the maximum legal weight or height.

This is false.

Farmers may move equipment larger than the legal dimensions without a permit but are obligated to follow all other safety requirements as per the Department of Transportation.

6) In Vermont, a farm tractor needs at least five headlights to be operated on a public highway from 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes after sunrise.

This is false.

A tractor in Vermont only needs at least two headlights.

7) In Washington State, 18-inch square red flags must be attached to the widest parts when exceeding 20 feet.

This is false.

The red flags must be attached when the widest parts exceed 10 feet.

8) In Tennessee, farm equipment operators must pull over if three or more vehicles are behind them.

This is false.

Farm equipment operators must pull over if five or more vehicles are behind them.

9) In Iowa, farm equipment going less than 35 mph must have at least one blue beacon light attached.

This is false.

Farm equipment going slower than 35 mph must, however, have an amber flashing light visible from the rear at any time from sunset to sunrise.

10) In Maine, state law dictates teenagers between 14 and 16 must have tractor safety training if they are employed on a farm outside of their family.

This is true.

How many did you get right? Would you like Farms.com to create other industry quizzes?


Trending Video

What is Regenerative Agriculture?

Video: What is Regenerative Agriculture?

Regenerative agriculture is an effective way to restore biodiversity and stabilize the climate, but what exactly is it? This video explores three different regenerative practices that have great potential both in food production and in healing the land.
 

Comments


Your email address will not be published