Home   Ag Industry News

OSCIA welcomes new president

OSCIA welcomes new president

Bruce County producer brings over 30 years of experience to the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association

Staff Writer
Les Nichols from Bruce County is the new president of the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association (OSCIA).
Nichols and his wife Mary reside in Formosa, where they farm 150 acres of cash crops using a corn-soybean-wheat rotation. Les also operates “Crop Watch Consulting, working as an independent certified crop advisor, providing advice on production, nutrient management and planning services,” a Wednesday OSCIA release said. 
Before becoming a licensed seed crop inspector, Nichols worked in agricultural retail and custom application for 30 years. 
Les Nichols from Bruce County is the 2019 OSCIA president. (OSCIA photo)
Nichols’ new role comes at an important time, as “crop production technology and systems continue to evolve at a rapid pace,” he said in the release. 
“The OSCIA mission to facilitate responsible economic management of soil, water, air and crops through development and communication of innovative farming practices has never been more relevant,” he added.
And Nichols is pleased with his new role with the organization, he told today.
“I’ve been involved (with the organization) at the grassroots level for a lot of years, sort of working my way up, and it’s certainly an honour to lead the provincial organization for the coming year.” 
The OSCIA presidential role is a very respected one, Andrew Graham, OSCIA executive director, told today.
“In each and every case, I can confidently say that the individual who took the reins of the president (role) rose to the occasion and did a wonderful job. Les brings a very unique skillset, and set of experiences to the role. 
“I have no doubt that he will do a fantastic job,” Graham added.   
Others on the 2019 provincial board of directors, the release said, are:
Stuart Wright – 1st vice, Heartland Region
Chad Anderson – 2nd vice, St. Clair Region
Warren Schneckenburger – 3rd vice, Eastern Valley
Peter McLaren – past president
Phil Oegema, Thames Valley
Andy van Niekerk, Georgian Central
Steve Sickle, Golden Horseshoe
Paul Hagey, East Central
Mark Burnham, Quinte
Eleanor Renaud, Ottawa Rideau
Birgit Martin, North Eastern Ontario
Andrew Brekveld, North Western Ontario
Brian Hall is the 2019 honorary president. 
The OSCIA announced its 2019 slate of provincial directors at the start of the month in Kingston at its annual conference. Founded in 1939, the OSCIA is a not-for-profit grassroots organization that has over 50 provincial associations and over 4,000 farmer memberships representing all major sectors. 
Updated Feb. 21, 2019
OSCIA photo

Trending Video

Small Community Opportunity Program Grants

Video: Small Community Opportunity Program Grants

We’re providing non-profits, Indigenous and small communities more than $3.2 million in grants for projects that drive innovation and growth in rural Alberta.

They have the know-how to build capacity in the agriculture and small business sectors and develop local economies across the province.