Home   Ag Industry News

Nominations open for Alberta Pulse Industry Innovator Award

Nominations open for Alberta Pulse Industry Innovator Award

The award recognizes work which helps the pulse industry

By Diego Flammini
Staff Writer

Albertans who know a person or organization trying to support the pulse industry can submit names for the 2023 Alberta Pulst Industry Innovator Award.

The award, now in its eighth year, recognizes those who “worked to help nurture and shape the pulse industry and has helped contribute to the success of the industry as it is today,” Alberta Pulse Growers said in a statement.

To be eligible for consideration, a nominee must have made significant contributions to Alberta’s pulse industry through production, marketing, promotion, research or another area.

Nominations must be completed by Dec. 6, 2022, at 4:00 p.m. Mountain Standard Time.

Once the applications are submitted, directors with the Alberta Pule Growers Commission will select the winner. The winner will be revealed in early 2023.

Clifford Cyre, a producer from Barrhead, Alta., posthumously received the 2022 award. He passed away in 2021.

“Cliff was a big supporter of research and worked hard to promote pulse crops in Alberta,” Shane Strydhorst, a producer with Alberta Pulse and farmer near Neerlandia, said during the presentation at the organization’s 2022 annual general meeting in January.

Lud Prudek, the organization’s first president, won the first innovator award in 2015.

Strydhorst's remarks about Cyre begin around the 37:30 mark of the video.

Trending Video

Testing for Nitrates in Forage Sorghum

Video: Testing for Nitrates in Forage Sorghum

We travel to Noble County to meet with a producer who’s getting his forage sorghum hay tested for nitrates. Dave Lalman, OSU Extension beef cattle specialist, and Rick Clovis, OSU Extension agricultural educator in Pawnee and Osage Counties, offer management and forage testing advice.


Your email address will not be published