Home   News

FMC Welcomes New Directors, Thanks its Champions, Celebrates Success at Annual Meeting

Farm Management Canada would like to thank everyone who participated in this year’s Annual General Meeting (AGM). The AGM was held via video conference July 10th and was a great success, welcoming members and stakeholders from across Canada to celebrate Farm Management Canada’s 2018-19 accomplishments and hear the results of Director elections.
“The Annual Meeting is an occasion for Farm Management Canada to share its accomplishments with members and stakeholders and mark the path forward to continue to meet the ever-changing demands of the industry with farm business excellence,” says Heather Watson, Executive Director.
Farm Management Canada highlighted the recent success of its Agricultural Excellence Conference, launch of the AgriShield risk assessment and planning platform, continuation of the Bridging the Gap farm transition program, progress on studying the link between farm management and mental health, and insights gained from the 22nd International Farm Management Congress. Farm Management Canada’s reach and impact was also demonstrated by speaking engagements and contributions to popular press, agricultural policy and programming.
FMC’s 2018-19 Annual Report is available  here.
This year, we received an astonishing 13 nominations for the 4 Board positions available.
Farm Management Canada welcomed Annessa Good, a beef farmer from Alberta to the young farmer position, Dr. Derek Brewin, Head of the Department Agribusiness and Ag. Economics at the University of Manitoba to the academic institution position, and Andrea Gal, managing editor of Better Farming, Better Pork and from Ontario, along with Roberta Galbraith, a cash crop farmer from Manitoba to fulfill the remaining open positions.
Farm Management Canada, its members and Board extended a sincere thank yo to its outgoing Board members Sterling Hilton, Merv Wiseman, Danielle Lee and Norm Hall. Sterling was elected to the Board in 2013 and served as Chair from 2016-2018. Merv was elected to the Board in 2016 and served as Vice-Chair from 2018-2019. Danielle was elected to the Board in 2016 as a young farmer representative, and Norm was elected to the Board in 2017 as the Canadian Federation of Agriculture representative.
Following the Annual Meeting, Joerg Zimmermann, a farm business consultant from Manitoba was re-elected Chair. Terry Aberhart, a cash crop farmer from Saskatchewan was elected Vice-Chair, and Jeannette Mongeon-Dignard, a cash crop farmer from Eastern Ontario was re-elected Secretary/Treasurer.
“I would like to welcome the new Board members as well as extend thanks to our out-going Directors. With their help, FMC will continue to champion farm business management, helping Canadian farmers to stay on the leading edge in this globally-connected world of agriculture,” says Joerg Zimmermann, Chair of Farm Management Canada
Source : FMC-GAC

Trending Video

FFA Officer Experience

Video: FFA Officer Experience

This week, Lincoln has transformed into a "sea of blue" as we celebrate the 96th Nebraska state FFA convention.