Home   News
MWBGA announces 2017 director election results
The Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (MWBGA) would like to welcome two new directors and one returning director to its board, following an election process that took place in the fall of 2017.
Boris Michaleski (Ashville), Rauri Qually (Dacotah) and incumbent Fred Greig (Reston) were nominated for the three available board positions and elected by acclamation.
Boris Michaleski and his wife, Karen, grow soybeans, canola, wheat, barley and ryegrass southwest of Dauphin.
“Being involved in agricultural and community organizations is vital in order to make positive changes for a strong and healthy industry and community,” says Michaleski, who hopes to work towards making wheat and barley an increasingly profitable cropping choice. “The experience gained in our farming operation, as well as working with various organizations, brings agricultural, governance and organizational skills to the MWBGA.”
And MWBGA looks forward to Rauri Qually doing the same from the Dacotah region of Manitoba, where  he works on his family’s grain farm, an operation he is the process of taking over. Qually has a strong commitment to community. He’s involved with his local hockey program, the Dacotah Historical Society and other local activities.
Qually looks forward to listening, learning and voicing the questions and concerns of the farmers he represents.Returning director and current Chair Fred Greig, whose name was up for re-election, remains committed to serving and representing Manitoba growers, ensuring the association’s efforts remain focused on delivering value to spring wheat and barley farmers.
“Helping to direct research where it will be of most benefit to producers continues to be a priority for me,” says Greig.The three directors’ four-year terms will start following the MWBGA Annual General Meeting (AGM), to be held Thursday, February 15 at the 2018 CropConnect Conference.
The AGM will start 12:30 p.m. at the Victoria Inn Hotel and Convention Centre at 1808 Wellington Avenue, Winnipeg, Man. A lunch buffet will be served at 12:00 p.m. prior to the start of the AGM.
Producers do not need to be registered for the CropConnect Conference to attend the MWBGA AGM.The three acclaimed directors will join the four existing directors Robert Misko (Roblin), Drew Baker(Beausejour), Dean Harder (Lowe Farm) and Cale Jefferies (Glenboro). 
Source : Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association