Home   News

Watch for travelling display of Eastern Ontario’s ag hall of famers

Four Eastern Ontario ag community leaders of the past and the present all have something in common. Dwayne Acres of Osgoode, Vera Mitchell of Metcalfe, Jack James of Russell and William Schouten of Richmond are among an impressive list of contributors to Ontario agriculture nominated by their peers and inducted into the Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame (OAHF).

A common thread among inductees is their support and leadership of community organizations and activities. In their accomplishments, you will find details of years of involvement in soil and crop associations, producer and livestock organizations, junior farmers and 4-H, community events, cooperatives, research institutes, agricultural extension and more.

The Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame Association was incorporated in 1979 as a charitable organization. It opened in June 1980 with the induction of nine pioneer agriculturists representing more than 100 years of combined efforts and initiatives in building a better agriculture for the province. To date 245 people, including 33 from Eastern Ontario, have been inducted into the hall of fame.

Click here to see more...

Trending Video

Agriculture at Kingsville Ontario, Canada

Video: Agriculture at Kingsville Ontario, Canada

Agriculture at Kingsville Ontario, Canada | bongo connection