Home   News

Governments Extend 2019 AgriStability Enrollment Deadline

Ottawa, Ontario – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada - Farmers form the backbone of rural communities across Canada. They are integral to expanding our middle-class and strengthening our economy. Federal-provincial-territorial (FPT) governments remain committed to growing Canada’s agricultural sector by ensuring all farmers have the tools they need to manage significant risks that threaten the viability of their farms.  
The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, today announced a two-month extension to the AgriStability enrollment deadline for the 2019 program year without penalty, from April 30th to July 2nd, 2019, allowing farmers more time to sign up and benefit from the program.  This exceptional step agreed to by FPT governments will enable the program to help more farmers manage the impact of current market disruptions and production challenges facing many farm operations.
Source : Government of Canada