Home   News

USDA: Missouri Farmers Now Eligible for Financial Assistance

U.S Department of Agriculture Declares 31 Counties in Missouri under Natural Disaster

By ,

The U.S Department of Agriculture has officially acknowledged that 31 Missouri state counties are under a natural disaster declaration. The declaration comes as the much of the state suffered devastating drought conditions in 2012, leaving farmers with little hope of a decent crop.

According to state Governor Jay Nixon, this official declaration means that farmers can now get emergency loans and other forms of assistance through the USDA’s Farm Service Agency. Again, this disaster aid is only available to farmers in the 31 affected counties.

The following list provides some guidance on what the emergency loan funding will cover:

•    Restore or replace essential property
•    Pay all or part of production costs associated with the disaster year
•    Pay essential family living expenses
•    Reorganize the farming operation
•    Refinance certain debts, excluding real estate

Emergency loans issued by the USDA are set at a maximum of $500,000. For more information on the USDA disaster assistance program, please visit the Farm Service Agency website.

Trending Video

CLAAS LEXION 8000-7000 Grain Tank

Video: CLAAS LEXION 8000-7000 Grain Tank

Whether it’s for protecting the components inside your grain tank or reducing combine height for storage, CLAAS has been equipping combines with power folding grain tank covers since the LEXION 400 Series to protect components from the elements year-round.


Your email address will not be published