Home   News

Nominate a Farmer for the Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame

This week is your last opportunity to nominate a farmer for the Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame.
The Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame was created back in 1951 to recognize individuals on a biennial cycle who have made significant contributions to the agriculture and food industry and to the development and sustainability of rural life in Alberta.
Alberta Agriculture and Forestry ceremonially inducts up to three individuals every two years.  To be eligible, you must be nominated by three individuals other than those in your immediate family.  Nominators may submit a nomination on behalf of an organization or as an individual.  The nomination deadline is coming up fast, Friday, May 15.  To nominate someone, you can download the nomination form from the Alberta Agriculture and Forestry website as well as submitting three letters of recommendations.  You can either send in nominations in paper form or electronically. All of that information can be found on the website.  Some of the Hall of Fame inductees from our area are Stanley Price (2002 - Acme), Jack Gorr (1998 - Three Hills), James Christie (1994 - Trochu), Henry Kroeger (1989 - Hanna), Allan Macpherson (1988 - Delia), and Lawrence Helmer (1978 - Hanna).
Click here to see more...

Trending Video

Fighting Foreign Animal Diseases in the U.S.

Video: Fighting Foreign Animal Diseases in the U.S.

Georgia Farm Bureau’s annual convention has numerous highlights, and among them are the breakout sessions. This year, one such session delved into the critical issue of foreign animal diseases--a highly pertinent topic given the alarming spread of confirmed and deadly diseases worldwide.