Home   News

Grain farmers urged to prepare for August 1 wheat reclassification

Prairie grain farmers need to be prepared for the upcoming reclassification of 29 wheat varieties and have a plan to market any of their remaining wheat that will transition to a new class on August 1, 2018.
The reminder comes from the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (Sask Wheat), the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) and the Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (MWBGA).
The Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) announced in February of 2015 that Canadian wheat class would be undergoing a modernization. The reason for the process was to maintain quality, enhance the consistency and support the marketability of Canadian wheat. In December 2015, the CGC the Canada Western Special Purpose wheat classes were announced.
On August 1, 25 varieties of wheat currently classified as Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS) and four varieties currently classified as Canada Prairie Spring Red (CPSR) will be reclassified into the Canada Northern Hard Red (CNHR) class.
The Canadian Grain Commission will not allow a grace period after July 31st.
Click here to see more...