Home   News

OSU Agriculture Administrators Receive Top Scientific Honor

Two members of the Oklahoma State University Agriculture administration have received one of the highest honors within the scientific community.

Jayson Lusk, vice president and dean of OSU Agriculture, and Scott Senseman, associate vice president of OSU Ag Research, have been named 2024 Honorary Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

AAAS Fellows are a distinguished group of scientists, engineers and innovators who are recognized for their achievements across disciplines, including research, teaching, technology, administration in academia, industry and government, as well as excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public.

Eligible nominees are members whose efforts to advance science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished. Election as an AAAS Fellow is a lifetime honor. Fellows are elected annually and are recognized at the AAAS annual meeting for their achievements.

“When OSU’s faculty are recognized by national organizations as leaders in their disciplines, it shines a bright light on the university,” said Kenneth Sewell, vice president for research at OSU. “Recognition by the largest scientific organization in the U.S. carries particular weight. Drs. Lusk and Senseman are true leaders in their fields at OSU and nationwide. We couldn’t be prouder of them as members of the Cowboy family.”

Lusk was awarded for “distinguished contributions to the field of agricultural economics, particularly for research and the communication and interpretation of the science underpinning predictions of consumer food demand.”

“OSU Agriculture is leading the way with more than 50 of our scientists as members of AAAS, with some publishing significant advances in science in the organization’s prestigious journal, ‘Nature,’” Lusk said. “I am honored to join the ranks in an organization that, at its roots, is interested in scholarship and innovation to benefit people across the globe.”

Senseman was recognized for “distinguished contributions in research, teaching and administration in the field of agronomy, particularly in residue chemistry, mode of action and environmental fate of herbicides in agricultural systems.”

"This is a very special honor, and I am profoundly humbled by it,” Senseman said, “This is an acknowledgment of the students who allowed me to be part of their scientific journey, the colleagues I had the opportunity to work with and learn from, and the support of my wife, Laura, during the last three decades of a demanding career. I have no doubt we will continue to accomplish unique innovations and solutions within OSU Ag Research.”

Raj Singh, a regents professor in materials science and engineering at OSU, also received the 2024 honor for “pioneering and game-changing scientific and technological contributions to the field of materials, particularly transformative processing and manufacturing of ceramic composites leading to technology insertion into commercial jet engines.”

Kiran Mysore, professor in the OSU Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, was honored as an AAAS Fellow in 2019.

Source :

Trending Video

Senate Ag Looks At Struggles Of Beginning Farmers

Video: Senate Ag Looks At Struggles Of Beginning Farmers

This week, the Senate Agriculture Committee held a hearing on potential Farm Bill tweaks that could assist beginning farmers at the start of their operations.