Home   News

Voting Starts Today for the Best Berry Display

Choose the next Foodland Ontario Consumers’ Choice Award Winner
The Ontario government is encouraging shoppers to choose the best seasonal berry display for the 2019 Foodland Ontario Consumers' Choice Award. For over 30 years, grocery stores across the province have entered Foodland Ontario's Retailer Awards display contests. For the first time, Ontario shoppers can vote for their favourite display of fresh Ontario strawberries, blueberries and raspberries.
"In celebrating our summer berry harvest this year, we invite everyone to show their love for local food by choosing which display best showcases Ontario's fresh produce," said Ernie Hardeman, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. "This is a fun and unique way for consumers to show their support for the creativity each grocery store puts into their displays of the good things that grow in Ontario."
Consumers can vote by following Foodland Ontario on Instagram or Facebook and "liking" one of the top three grocery store display finalists. The Ontario berry display that receives the most "likes" or votes will receive the Consumers' Choice Award.
"Every wholesale berry grower knows that the best advocate for their product is the produce manager who takes pride in their trade," said Tom Heeman, the Chairman of the Berry Growers of Ontario. "Every hand that touches an Ontario berry shares in the success of our industry and we want to encourage you to recognize the hands that put the berries on your local shelf."
For more than 30 years, the Foodland Ontario Retailer Awards have been the produce industry's premier competition for excellence in grocery store display and promotion in support of local Ontario foods. This year, for the first time ever, consumers can decide which store created the best display.
Source : OMAFRA

Trending Video

Senate Ag Republicans Release Farm Bill Framework

Video: Senate Ag Republicans Release Farm Bill Framework

This week, Senator John Boozeman of Arkansas, ranking member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, released the Republican membership’s framework for the 2024 Farm Bill.