Home   News

Minister MacAulay announces three appointments to the Farm Products Council of Canada

Ottawa, Ontario – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)

The Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, Lawrence MacAulay, announced today three appointments
to the Farm Products Council of Canada (FPCC). Brian Douglas begins a four-year term as the newly
appointed Chair of the FPCC, effective June 11; Yvon Cyr joins the Council for a four-year term,
effective immediately; and Maryse Dubé returns for her second three-year term, which began on April

These appointments were made following an open, transparent, and merit-based selection process.
Minister MacAulay expressed his gratitude to Mike Pickard for all his hard work and leadership as
Interim Chairperson of the FPCC, as he returns to his role as Vice Chair.


"I am pleased to announce the appointments of Brian Douglas, Yvon Cyr and Maryse Dubé to the
Farm Products Council of Canada. All three appointees bring valuable and diverse experiences to
their respective roles, as well as a strong understanding of the agriculture sector. I offer them my
congratulations and wish them continued success in their new roles."
− Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Quick Facts

• The role of the FPCC is to ensure that the supply management system for poultry and eggs as
well as the promotion and research activities for beef cattle work in the balanced interest of all
stakeholders, from producers to consumers.
• Council members are appointed to hold office at pleasure, by the Governor in Council upon
the recommendation of the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, for terms of varying lengths.
At the time of their appointment, at least half of members, not including the Chairperson, must
be primary agricultural producers.

Associated Links

Farm Products Council of Canada 

Source : Government of Canada